Martin Guitars, Blueridge Guitars, Guitar Parts, Guitar Pickups
Martin
Blueridge
Reverend
Acoustic Guitar Case,Guitar Case - MaurysMusic.com
Mesa/Boogie
D-Tar Pickups, K&K Pickups, Martin Pickups, Fire-Eye Preamps, Radial Preamps, Orchid Preamps, Ultrasound Amps, Fishman Amps, Guitar Pickups, Guitar Amps, Guitar Preamps
Acoustic Guitar Parts, Martin Guitar Parts, Blueridge Guitar Parts, Bridge Pins, Guitar Saddles
Acoustic Guitar Strings, D'Addario Strings, DR Strings, Elixir Strings, John Pearse Strings, Martin Strings
Guitar Cable, Guitar Capo, Guitar Humidifier, Guitar Pick, Guitar Strap, Guitar Stand, Guitar Polish, Guitar Tuner, Guitar Accessories
 Martin J-40 - Rate and Review 
Rate the Martin J-40
 5 - Best Martin I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the Martin J-40
 3 - Good Martin, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the J40


Martin J-40 Reviews
Name: J.S. Johnson
Date: 7/26/2012
Review: Martin J40
Rating you give the Martin J-40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Best sound for my playing styles. I bought this one new in 1989 and have yet to find any other guitar that can top it! Ideal balance, sustain and tone. No dead spots or wolf tones for even the extended chords with tons of overtones and harmonics. It plays clean over the entire range and the tone is outstanding.

Dislikes: None

Additional Comments: This has been my main guitar for over 23 years and I'll keep on going. It keeps getting better! About 4 years ago it had a split through the bridge. Was sent back to the Martin factory, they said the bridge plate had failed. It needed a refret so I had them do it all. Martin replaced the bridge plate and bridge, gave the whole guitar a respray and buff job, did a neck reset and repaired anything else plus the set up all covered 100% under the lifetime warranty, I only paid for a fret job. It came back like new and sounded better than ever! I play many styles, jazz, blues, bluegrass, bossanova, country and this J-40 has no limits to it's range. Soft or loud the dynamic range is there. I play finger style with a thumb pic and the bass can really thump even when dampened. Amazing guitar and Martin is a great company to deal with.
 
Name: Bob Hardison
Date: 01/30/2012
Review: Martin J-40 guitar
Rating you give the Martin J-40: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes:  I like the sound and the ease of playing. The Fishman pickups with electronic tuner built in, which I ordered sure sounds good.

Dislikes: There is nothing to dislike about it

Additional Comments:  It's a perfect guitar for finger pickin' like Merle and Chet.
 
Name: Bill
Date: 7/25/11
Review: Martin J40
Rating you give the Martin J-40: 5 - Best guitar I ever played

Likes: Everything

Dislikes: None

Additional Comments: My J40 was one of the first remakes, the music store I purchased it from Insisted That The Martin Salesman leave him the guitar That he was using to demonstrate the new line.  I finally talked him out of it.  I have always known that I made the right choice.  It keeps getting better over the years.  I have always received compliments from anyone that I let play the instrument (Not many that I will).  Many offers to buy..  This guitar has a home.  Never heard better.  (playing all types of music for over 40yrs.)
 
Name: B Jasso
Date: 7/11/11
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Purchased one of the first J-40M models in 1986.  Fantastic guitar, regretted selling it.  The new J-40 is even better in overall sound, volume and sustain.  The J-40 also has the bling factor that the J-40M did not.  Wonderful all-purpose acoustic guitar.  Great deal at Maury's.

Dislikes: It took me so long to replace the J-40M.

Additional Comments: I have never seen a better deals on Martin guitars than at Maury's Music. (not a paid endorsement)
 
Name: Richard
Date: 5/23/2011
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Sweet even tone not bass heavy or to bright.  Comfortable neck and playing position weather seated or standing.

Dislikes: None

Additional Comments: After eighteen year's I still love it, the spruce top has a lovely golden color now.  A few year's back Martin offered abalone inlayed ebony tuning machine button's that I replaced the gold one's with and I replaced the plastic for the ebony bridge pins.  It looks terrific.  If you are on the fence about which one to get stop the J-40 is the one.
 
Name: Gary
Date: 12/28/10
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Deep yet well balanced. Great action with Martin factory set up.

Dislikes: None.

Additional Comments: Better than my 10 year old 2000 HD28 and my 2008 Taylor 916....best guitar I have played.
 
Name or Forum username: Johngallt
Date: 8-28-10
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: The balanced sound like no other Martin I've played for over 40 yrs.

Dislikes: Dude, nothing sucks about this guitar.

Additional Comments: New at about $3000, its the best sound for the buck hands down.
 
Forum username: ebertaudio
Date: 1-1-10
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: I rented one for a record I was producing 7 years ago then said "shit, I have to buy this".

Dislikes: none

Additional Comments: This guitar beats almost every boutique guitar I've recorded.
 
Forum username: livenlarge
Date: 10/18/2008
Review: Martin J-40
Rating you give the Martin J40: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: The sound i wanted to hear was in my head before I went guitar shopping back in 1987.  I played no less than 25 different guitar models.  When I strummed the J-40, it had "that sound".  After 20 years it's still the best sounding acoustic I've ever played.

Dislikes: not enough time to play as much as i like.
 
Name:  David D
Date:  Feb 26, 2008
Review:  Martin J40
Rating you give the Martin J-40:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin J40:  Full rich and incredibly balanced

Dislike about the Martin J-40:  There is nothing to dislike about this instrument

Additional Comments:  I own nearly a dozen Martins and two "boutique" guitars.  This Martin is a dream come true.  A strum across all six strings exhibits a perfect balance of volume and lush tone.  If I could keep just one guitar, this would be the one.  I wish I had had the opportunity to try one years ago.
 
Name:  JD Beard
Date:  11 OCT 07
Review:  Martin J40

Like about the Martin J-40:  Bought it in 1990, and it has become a great old friend.  It has been refinished, has a new saddle, and has been refretted 3 times since then, and it just keeps getting better.  It has seen countless stages and crowds, as well as most of my lows and highs.  If I could speak to the me about to purchase this guitar 17 years ago, I'd say I was about to make the right choice.
 
Name:  Lenny
Date:  July 1 2007
Review:  1990 Martin J40
Rating you give the Martin J-40:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin J40:  Exceptional all round sound quality for differnt style.

Dislike about the Martin J-40:  Should be built with compensated saddle.

Additional Comments:  Have taken it to guitar builders for refret, saddle work, accessories, etc.  They advise me that it is one of the best, they've played.
 
Forum username:  Maverick56
Date:  March 21, 2007
Review:  Martin J40
Rating you give the Martin J-40:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin J40:  The sound is outstanding.  I own a Gibson J200, cannot match the quality.  I owned a Gibson Hummingbird,  junk compared to the Martin J40.  I own a Martin HD28, Comparable in quality but not near as deep and mellow in the low ranges.

Dislike about the Martin J-40:  Ain't got none!
 
Name:  John Miatech
Date:  5/1/06
Review:  Martin J40
Rating you gave the Martin J-40:  5 - Best thing I ever bought

Like about the Martin J40:  A beautiful, full-sounding guitar, matching the looks and sound of the more expensive D45 with a fuller, mellow tone. A great, great instrument, especially for the price! I love it!
 
Reg. Price:
$4,799.00
Sale Price:
$3,649.00
Save:
$1,150.00

Availability:  Contact us
        

    Social Media



     

    *Prices are subject to change without notice.