#
 

John Pearse Phosphor Bronze String Customer Reviews


Name or Forum username: uncabil
Date: 03/28/15
Review: John Pearse 720 ML
Rating you give the John Pearse 720ML Strings: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Quality, tone, & longevity, this strings sound better & better with age, like fine wine, I've used Elixirs, Martin SP, D'Addarios, and other, but NONE as good as JP.

Dislikes: Tomatos, eggplant, and octopus.

Additional Comments: Sometimes I feel apologetic for JP Strings, at times, because they last so long, and I don't want to change such a fine sounding set of strings!


Name or Forum username: DC
Date: 8/27/12
Review: John Pearse 600L strings
Rating you give the John Pearse 600L Strings: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Nice balance, tone, playability, "feel", and volume. Couldn't believe how good they sounded immediately after putting them on, and they just get better with more playing time.

Dislikes: none

Additional Comments: I'm a pro musician playing Irish/Celtic music in DADGAD tuning and have been using Martin M540 PB lights for many years because of their tone, consistency, longevity, and good pricing. But I recently tried the JP 600L and think they might be a little better. The treble strings sound more solid with less "twang" than the Martins and the wound strings sound strong, precise, and well-balanced with good volume. They simply play well and sound great, whether finger picking or strumming.

I also tried a set of Adamas 1818E PB lights and although nice warm-sounding strings, they weren't at the level of the John Pearse strings.


Name or Forum username: larryv
Date: Nov 7, 2011
Review: John Pearse 600L
Rating you give the John Pearse 600L strings: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Good bass, clean mids and clear highs. They stay tuned well.

Dislikes: Nothing yet.

Additional Comments: I like these a lot better than the Martin light phosphorus bronze and somewhat better than the DRs. It's the combination of your particular guitar and a particular string that matters. These work very well on my Tak EF261S with a Crate Acoustic CA30DG.


Forum username: Windwalker
Date: 5/15/2011
Review: John Pearse 700M Bronze Acoustic Guitar Strings
Rating you give the John Pearse 700M strings: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Sound is warm and woody the bass is well balanced and the med is very crisp the highs are clear and have jingle type response to them.

Dislikes: None.

Additional Comments: I am a professional musican I play bluegrass folk, country, Southern Gospel, Lead and rythem.  I own Martin D-45, HD-28 and Gibson Montana Hummingbird Guitars


Name: Ed
Date: August 24, 2010
Review: John Pearse 600L
Rating you give the John Pearse strings: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Long lasting, improved bass response on my guitar, rich sound

Dislikes: Perhaps a bit less bright than D'Addario EJ16 but not a concern considering the overall sound

Additional Comments: I used D'Addario EJ16 for many years and found them satisfactory, the JP 600L is just a bit better in my opinion though would still use the EJ16 if I could not get the JP.


Name: Gingold
Date: 2-25-09
Review: John Pearse 600L
Rating you give the John Pearse strings: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Consistently great sound, long life (if treated right), very nice company.

Dislikes: None to speak of.  I did find one package of medium gauge strings marked as light gauge, but the company responded by sending me a few replacement sets free of charge.

Additional Comments: I have been playing for over 25 years and while I have not tried a lot of different strings through the years (I tend to stay with one brand for a long time) I have tried D'Addario and Dean Markley.  I can say that John Pearse 600L's outshine them.


Forum username:  BluegrassPicker
Date:  2/8/2008
Review:  John Pearse Strings
Rating you give the John Pearse strings:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes:  Best strings on the market.  Overall A++ rating.  Not the brightness that many strings overwhelm you with.

Dislikes:  None.  Mediums (which I play) may be difficult for some to play.


Name:  Judy
Date:  May 31, 2007
Review:  John Pearse Phosphor Bronze
Rating you give the John Pearse guitar strings:  1 - Save your money

Like about the John Pearse Phosphor Bronze strings:  Absolutely nothing.

Dislike about the John Pearse strings:  These were quite possibly one of the worst phosphor bronze strings I have ever encountered.  Only the Rotosound Jumbo Kings rate as the ultimate worst guitar strings I have ever used to date & they came off after 1 hour of play.  These Pearse's lacked brightness and were very mid-rangey.  They reminded me of slightly-worn strings and made my D-28 sound like nothing special.  Rather than buy another guitar, I removed these strings after 4 hours of playing.  I could't take it anymore.  They are also quite stiff (compared to the D'Addario Phosphor Bronze) and seem to add more string tension.  Volume, bass and projection were abysmal in relation to other well-known brands like the SP Marquis and D'Addarios.  If you really want to do a head trip on someone while playing decently on a nice guitar, tell them you are using these strings and they will be lost or confused forever wondering what is wrong with technique or instrument.

Additional Comments:  These were an .013 medium gauge set.


Name:  Reed
Date:  05-26-07
Review:  John Pearse 700M
Rate the John Pearse phosphor bronze strings:  2 - Did the job nothing special

Like about the John Pearse pb strings:  Got them as a free sample from a friend who switched brands.

Dislike about the JP phosphor bronze strings:  Found them to be a bit on the stiff side compared to other .013 PBs (e.g. D'Addario/GHS/Martin SP).

Additional Comments:  Warm PB tonalities; wounds not as bright as the SPs or GHS PBs.


Name:  Ernie D
Date:  3/29/2007
Review:  John Pearse Phosphor Bronze 600L
Rating you give the John Pearse Phosphor Bronze 600L Strings:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the JP Phos Bronze 600L Strings:  I like the longevity of these strings. I don't break as many and they don't go dead as quick as some I've used.

Dislike about the John Pearse Strings:  What dislikes?

 


 5 - Best thing I ever bought
 4 - Highly recommend it
 3 - Good product, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money


Reg. Price:
$12.95
Sale Price:
$6.34
Save:
$6.61

John Pearse 600L Light Strings           

Reg. Price:
$12.95
Sale Price:
$6.80
Save:
$6.15

John Pearse 650 Bluegrass Strings           

Reg. Price:
$12.95
Sale Price:
$6.80
Save:
$6.15

John Pearse 700M Medium Strings

Reg. Price:
$12.95
Sale Price:
$6.80
Save:
$6.15

John Pearse 710NM New Medium Strings                    

Reg. Price:
$12.95
Sale Price:
$6.34
Save:
$6.61

John Pearse 720ML Medium Light Strings              

Reg. Price:
$20.50
Sale Price:
$9.52
Save:
$10.98

John Pearse 1400L Light 12-String                

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

     

    Shopper Award