#
 

Martin OM-21 - Rate and Review

Martin OM-21 Reviews (new version - 2012 and later)

Name: Lenwood
Date: 12/6/13
Review: Martin OM21
Rating you give the Martin OM-21: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: EVERYTHING: Size, neck, tone, sunburst top is amazing, price, etc.  Maury's really came through with this one.  This is an exquisite instrument.

Dislikes: Martin strings.  And the Martin case is very good, but my Taylor cases seem to be more sturdy and the guitars fit tighter.

Additional Comments: The OM21 is THE guitar.  Best I have for finger style, and awesome tone for light to medium strumming with outstanding projection.  Perfect size to wrap around and play for hours.  If I need some more "boom", I'll pull out my D18, but this OM is where I'll spend most of my time.

 
Martin OM-21 Reviews (old version - pre 2012)
Forum username: Fender 26
Date: 01-19-2012
Review: Martin OM-21

Likes: Like the feel of the wider neck. Hi quality. Low action. Satin neck

Dislikes: Needs broken in. I've had old 00/000 and they resonated better. Old ones didn't adjust.

Additional Comments: Very basic ,my last Martin was a D 41 so it's an adjustment but fun.
 
Forum username: sunriver61
Date: 3/31/2011
Review: Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM21: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Tone is gorgeous, easy to play, and this baby is one I'm hanging onto for a long time.

Dislikes: Could use a little more depth on the low end, and very loud with a pick.

Additional Comments: Unfortunately this came to me and needed to have the neck straightened and the bridge raised a little as well. Now that it's fixed, it's wonderful.

Maury's comments:  This guitar was not purchased from Maury's Music.  It would not have passed our inspection or left our shop with a neck that needed to be straightened or bridge raised.
 
Name: Ken Budd
Date: 3/3/10
Review: Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM21: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Couldn't find a better guitar for playing Hawaiian slack key. Sweet and mellow but can also play bright. Licks and lines sound good any string, any fret. Is comfortable to play.

Dislikes: Very sensitive to temperature/humidity changes.
 

Forum username: Broadus (AGF)
Date: 2-28-10
Review: Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM21: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: I bought my OM-21 (2005 model) seven months ago and enjoy it more today than when I first opened the case, and I loved it then. This is a wonderful OM. Rich sound with great overtones, has the bass my Larrivee OM was missing, and is easy to play. Love the classy, understated look.

I wanted to give it a "5," but I cannot say it's the best Martin out there. I will say it's the best bang-for-the-buck guitar Martin has. A long-time Martin guitarist played it and said I could spend more money for another Martin, but it would be for bling, not for a better sound.

The spruce top of mine has aged nicely with a golden tone.

Dislikes: Nothing.

Additional Comments: 2 5/16" string spacing (like the OM-21 Special has) would be icing on the cake.

 
Forum username: hippo
Date: 2/6/10
Review: Martin OM 21
Rating you give the Martin OM21: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Love the neck and the comfortable fingerboard width. It just fits like a glove. Beautiful warm yet clear tone, great for fingerstyle, soft chord-strumming and latin/jazz.

Dislikes: Little lack of cutting treble so it would not be my 1st choice for flatpicking in a band context.

Additional Comments: Plain but beautiful appearance, great tone for my style, easy to play, but definitely not an all around guitar.
 
Forum username: archpop
Date: 7/2/09
Review: Martin OM21
Rating you give the Martin OM-21: 3 - Good product give it a try

Likes: Good for rhythm and cowboy chords.  Sounds good for a new Martin or any new guitar.

Dislikes: All new Martins are not the quality of those of the past.  Not great for jazz because of it's NON-Cutaway body design.

Additional Comments: I am not just saying new Martins are dissapointing but most factory built new guitars of today seem dissapointing for the most part. 
 
Name:  Steve C
Date:  10/17/07
Review:  Martin OM21
Rating you give the Martin OM-21:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the Martin OM21:  Beautiful complex rich tone and beautiful to look at.  Great size for comfort.

Dislike about the Martin OM-21:  I dislike the small pick guard as it does not cover the area it needs to for my playing.

Additional Comments:  I have several guitars.  This is the one I expect to have forever.
 
Forum username:  STIME01
Date:  10/03/07
Review:  MARTIN OM21
Rating you give the Martin OM-21:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the Martin OM21:  great playability and mid-range tone for the price.  Great specs for fingerpicking, good midrange.  Extra nut width is a big bonus if playing classical style.  Awesome when fitted with a b-and Ast/Ust/A2.2/.  Great entry point if looking for a  Martin.

Dislike about the Martin OM-21:  None, but if your looking for big bass resonance, forget it.

Additional Comments:  Can't stop playing it for blues, classical, latin jazz and country.
 
Forum username:  motskoman
Date:  3/10/07
Review:  Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM21:  4 - Highly recommend it
Like about the Martin OM-21:  Sustain, complex,powerful rich tone. Comfort. 

Dislike about the Martin OM21:  Nothing

Additional Comments:  This particular OM-21 was extraordinary! Now I know what all the fuss about a great OM is about!  It was a magical instrument!!
 
Forum username:  martin1
Date:  1/2/07
Review:  Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM-21:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the Martin OM-21:  Bought this OVER a D-28 or J-40; it was just more fun to play at the end of the day and a bit of a break from from the heavy handed bigger models.

Dislike about the Martin OM-21:  none yet

Additional Comments:  a great guitar
 
Date:  4/6/06
Review:  Martin OM 21
Rating you gave the Martin OM-21:  5 - Best thing I ever bought

Like about the Martin OM21:  Love the style of it, no need for bells and whistles, it's the tone and feel that really counts here!

Dislike about the Martin OM-21:  No dislikes here!

Additional Comments:  Beautiful guitar overall, loud, nice tone, wide neck, easy to play!
 
UMGF username:  dom000
Date:  3-6-06
Review:  Martin OM-21
Rating you gave the Martin OM21:  4 - Highly recommend it
Liked about the Martin OM-21:  Nice clarity, deep, resonant bass that can compare to higher end OM's. Perfect for fingerpicking, and pretty much anything else you can throw at it. Nice midrange. Dovetail neck joint and scalloped
bracing! One of Martin's most underrated guitars.

Disliked about the Martin OM-21:  Lacks some of the "punch" and boominess of a Vintage model, or even a higher end standard series. Tuners are questionable. 

Additional Comments:  Great guitar all around. Obviously not the best OM model in the world, but I'd say it takes the cake on the price range it is in.  I own that and an OM-18V, and i dont intend on selling the 21 anytime soon. Its too great!
 
Name:  Rich
Date:  01-22-2006
Review:  Martin OM-21
Rating you give the Martin OM21:  4 - Highly recommend it

Liked about the Martin OM-21:  This guitar has a great tone, choice materials in a small package. It has depth and clarity unlike some of the cutaways or electrified models even a few drednaughts.

Disliked about the Martin OM-21:  The fret board is a 1/16" wider than other models which facilitates good flatpicking but smaller hands might prefer a narrower board.

Additional Comments:  Vintage style tuners with premium bridge pins would make this guitar even more of a sleeper!
 
Rate the Martin OM-21
 5 - Best Martin I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the Martin OM-21
 3 - Good Martin, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the OM21


Martin OM-21

Sorry, this guitar has been replaced. Please see the Martin OM-21 (2018) for details.

Martin OM-21 Ambertone


Sorry, this guitar has been replaced. Please see the Martin OM-21 Ambertone (2018) for details.

Sorry, this guitar is no longer available.

To view our current Martin guitar inventory, please use this link.  Martin guitars

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

     

    Shopper Award