Skip to main content
#
 

Blueridge BR-140A - Rate and Review

Rate The Blueridge BR-140A
 5 - Best Blueridge I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the BR-140A
 3 - Good Blueridge, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the BR140A


Blueridge BR-140A Reviews

Forum username: Cibby
Date: 07/14/13
Review: Blueridge BR-140A
Rating you give th Blueridge BR140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: This is my second BR140A. My other one is 2 years old and I use it to play live along with my D28. I love the sound of mahogany and Adirondack Spruce nice and loud,dry and crisp and a good bass response. I am happy to see they now ship with the bottom end pin out.

Dislikes: How can you find anything wrong with an adi topped beauty like this Blueridge for the price you pay. It is just a great buy.

Additional Comments: I replaced the plastic bridge pins on this one with ebony just like my old one. I ended up giving my old BR140A to my daughter who plays live with me sometimes. The BR140A was her favorite to. The BR140A is so well made and has held up so well with 2 years of hard playing it should give her many more years of playing. I'm looking forward to putting my new one through the same type of playing , live gigs ,bluegrass jam sessions ,some recording and many hours of practice time.

 
Name: Charles Aschmann
Date: 11-2-12
Review: Blueridge BR-140A guitar
Rating you give the BR140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: This guitar has a rich sound across the entire range. It was just the sound I was looking for and the one I got was very close in sound to the demo videos.  I am particularly fond of the bass end sound.  The instrument is a pleasure to hold and play as well as listen to.  If you want that vintage sound, this is a great choice.

Dislikes: None so far and I have had it for almost a year.

Additional Comments: I had Maury's replace the stock pins with ebony ones. Excellent addition.
 
Name: Allen Surface
Date: 07/17/2012
Review: Blueridge BR-140A
Rating you give the Blueridge BR140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Great sounding guitar for the price. Once the Adi top breaks in, the sound really matures and deepens.

Dislikes: Bridge pins, I got my luthier to replace the pins with solid ebony pins.
 
Name: Gary
Date: 10-12-2011
Review: BR-140A
Rating you give the Blueridge BR140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: I like the sound! It is clean sounding across all the strings. Each one can be heard. It is also a loud guitar. Being my first adi topped guitar, I wonder if this is why? I played it alongside a jamming buddy's Martin D-18 Authentic and it is louder and projects better than his D-18. He even agreed. He also could not put it down when I let him play it.

Dislikes: no complaints, really. The only blemish I found was a bit of overspray on the fingerboard near the nut. It is still a keeper.

Additional Comments: I notice that the top seems to be thinner than sitka tops on my other guitars. This is also a light guitar. Maybe this is what makes it such a cannon!
 
Name: Jon Anderson
Date: 6/8/2011
Review: Blueridge BR-140A
Rating you give the Blueridge BR-140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Quality solid wood on top, back and sides.  Finish is excellent.  Mahogany is 3D-ish with nice figure.  The Adirondack top looks great.  No action adjustment needed on neck.  Came set-up as good as my Goodall, Taylor's, Breedlove and Martin.  Plain headstock and Dalmatian pickguard are a nice touch, good looking not fancy.  This is to be played not ogled at.  The 1.75" neck has a nice profile, not too small like some people state.  Frets are right size for easy playing.  Intonation was right on according to my strobe tuner.  Sound is articulate, full and balanced, what you would expect from Mahogany.  Remember, this is not Rosewood.  More than enough volume to get you heard in the mix.  The midrange in this guitar cuts right thru.  Possibly a great blues guitar.  You can get some grit if you want.

Dislikes: Haven't found one yet and I'm fussy.

Additional Comments: I purchased this to be my knock around guitar.  Take to work, campfires and such.  While this is not in the class with my $3500 - $5500 guitars, I believe it's not far from them and certainly not in the class with the other brand guitars in this price range.  If you know how to play, this guitar will make you sound very good!
 
Forum username: cibby
Date: 03/25/2011
Review: Blueridge BR140A
Rating you give the Blueridge BR-140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Hugh sound and sustain.  Great bass response,amazing high end for import.  Well made no flaws and good factory set up.  Sounds best with SP Lifespan Mediums strings.  Love the neck nice full feel for Blueridge and 1 3/4in nut width makes it great for flatpicking bluegrass runs.

Dislikes: Nothing big just plastic bridge pins.  Replaced them day1.

Additional Comments: Adirondack Top, bone nut and saddle 1 3/4in nut width for $605!!  Don't know why anyone would be unhappy with that.  The closest import in quality Eastman is $350 more for adi/hog model.  I owned one and it had issues with neck set and saddle.  The BR140A is very well made neck and relief is perfect.  Set up needed no adjustment.  This BR-140A sounds beautiful with adi top and neck has nice full feel not skinny feeling.  Well worth twice the price.  I have a D-28 and would rather play the BR140A.  In fact it will be my mine acoustic when I gig at Hilton Head Island this summer.
 

Name: Tim George
Date: March 11 2011
Review: BR-140A
Rating you give the BR-140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Balanced tone of highs & lows with plenty of punch

Dislikes: none

Additional Comments: Very comparable with a Martin D18V without the D18V price.Played mine side by side with a really good D18V they sound very, very close both guitars are hoss's.

 
Name: Jack Harrison
Date: 08/11/2010
Review: Blueridge BR140A Guitar
Rating you give the BR-140A: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Beautiful finish, great tone, factory setup was perfect - this guitar is loud.

Dislikes: I wish they had left the headstock plain mahogany rather than try to paint a simulated Brazilian rosewood grain on it.

Additional Comments: This is a great guitar for the money.  It is at least equal to the Martin D16 Adirondack which sells on the Internet for nearly $1000 more than the BR140A.
 
Name or Forum username: Monk
Date: 09-04-2009
Review: Blueridge BR-140A

Likes: Superior tone and sustain.  Solid wood top AND back and sides.  Sustain and resonance, string clarity/separation, and a bone nut and saddle so for once I won't have to replace them!  Also a pretty pickguard, just for fun.  Classy headstock and inlay styling is very attractive as well.  Neck is fast and you don't have to fight it.

Dislikes: I would have liked bone bridge pins as a stock feature. Why stop with the nut and saddle?

Additional Comments: Honestly, there is no need to spend over 2 grand on a Martin when the BR140A is only $700.  I'm not kidding, and I have played and owned my share fair of fancy guitars, some of which could have been sold for the price of a new car.  This is a mystifying deal and thank you Blueridge.
 
Forum username:  MartinMan
Date:  04/24/08
Review:  Blueridge BR-140A
Rating you give the Blueridge BR140A:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes:  The Adirondack top increases the sustain and opens up the clarity of every single string. The mahogany wood is beautiful and the top is a much lighter color than the regular 140. A stunning looking guitar!
  
Dislikes:  None at all. You cannot go wrong with this one!

Additional Comments:  It is all about the sound of this guitar. It rings as loud as my HD-28 when strummed. A great guitar for fingerpicking or flatpicking also. May be the best sounding guitar I have ever played in 50 years.
 
Blueridge BR-140A
Reg. Price:
$1,250.00
Sale Price:
$723.00
Save:
$527.00
product
buy now

On order with a January ETA.

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

    email usour twitterour facebook page pintrestgoogle plus youtubeinstagram

     

    Shopper Award