Skip to main content
#
 

K&K Pure Western Pickup - Rate and Review

Rate The K&K MINI Pure Western
 5 - Best thing I ever bought
 4 - Highly recommend it
 3 - Good product, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money


Product Reviews

Name: P Walsh
Date: 6/8/2013
Review: K&K Pure Mini

Likes: Great sounding transducer for acoustic guitar. No battery. Easy installation. Dead simple, reliable and plenty of output.

Dislikes: Drilling the hole for the endpin jack is a bit scary. Take it slow use a forstner bit and prevent grain tear out on the finish surface using heavy tape or veneer and double sided tape.

Additional Comments: Installed one of these in a friend's guitar and liked a lot. I just put one in my own Martin D-16 and I am loving it. Works great with the K&K preamps (1 meg impedance) but works fine with LR Baggs, Radial PZdeluxe and other preamps that are 10 meg imedance too. Currently using the PZdeluxe with mine for the mute swith, boost button and especially the sweepable mids.

 
Name or Forum username: bhbaum
Date: 3.6.12
Review: K&K Pure Mini
Rating you give the K&K Pure Mini: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Rich full, accurate sound for an affordable price.

Dislikes: No complaints

Additional Comments: I was surprised at how much sound this system put out for such a small pickup. Combine it with my other purchase and you will never go wrong (LR Baggs Venue DI)

P.S. please see my review of the Venue DI as well as on the Martin HD-35.
 
Name or Forum username: Crowbone
Date: 5/25/2012
Review: K&K Mini Western Pickup
Rating you give the K&K Mini Western Pickup: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Captures all the best tone passively, and is a breeze to install. I can play my acoustic at full band volume with no feedback worries now. Amazing!

Dislikes: an additional $110 if you don't want to ream out your vintage end pin hole.

Additional Comments: I record with my guitar miced and with the K&K into the board...just another plus for this thing.
 
Name/ Forum username: keembo
Date: 8/18/2010
Review: K & K mini pure western pickup
Rating you give the K&K pure western: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: This has very good acoustic sound. I prefer it to the Fishman and LR Baggs I have in other guitars.  The installation is easy if you follow directions

Dislikes: None..really.  It is a very quality product, and it would be my first consideration in putting a pickup in an acoustic.

Additional Comments: I would have rated this a 5, but I don't like to give 5 ratings.  I play it through a Crate acoustic amp...no preamp and it sounds terrific.
 
Name or Forum username: Nash Rambler
Date: 04/08/09
Review: K&K Pure Western mni
Rating you give theK&K mini pure western: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Natural sound

Dislikes: Like any pickup, the strap pin/jack is always hard to get right.

Additional Comments: First thing I do when I buy a guitar is remove the pick guard and install a K&K. I've tried all kinds of pickups. This is the best. I've never had feedback problems with my speakers behind me and only few feet away. I now use a Fishman SoloAmp almost next to me.
 
Forum username: Barry12string Moran
Date: 15 march 2009
Review: K&K Pure Western Mini
Rating you give the K&K mini pure western: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: Balanced Volume and tone,Easy installation, and consistant high performance every time.

Additional Comments: Being a 12 string player, I have tried many of the 'Big' name pickups (in-hole and piezo) but this little beauty beats em all.  No more dominant octave strings from me :)  Finally someone who understands a guitar players needs.  Brilliant!!
 
Name or Forum username:  Zoobie
Date:  1/2/07
Review:  K&K Pure Western pick up
Rating you give the K&K Pure Western:
  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the K&K Pure Western pickup:  Ease of instalation,No battery!Great transparent tone!

Dislike about the K&K Pure Western pickup:  No mixer,Eq.Sure a little feedback if not situated properly.Thumping fingers on your soundboard can be loud!

Additional Comments:  Dont be fooled by the price,they are excellent sounding.
 
Forum username:  oldacousticplayer
Date:  7/19/6
Review:  K&K pure western mini
Rating you give the K&K mini pure western pickup:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the K&K pure western mini:  Very natural sound. None of the "boxy" sound of an under saddle.  Sounds like my acoustic guitar, just louder.

Dislike about the K&K mini pure western:  More prone to feedback than others I have played.

Additional Comments:  Installation is really no big deal. Instructions are well written.  Output is surprisingly good. I use the preamp also, but really only need it for the EQ, not for the gain.
 
Forum username:  gfunk26
City/State:  Bellevue, ID
Date:  6/27/04
Review:  K&K mini Pure Western
Rating you give the K&K pure western:  4 - Highly recommend it

Likes:  I can't believe the output this pickup produces.  I have mine in a 2003 D-35 and it sounds awesome.  I use it through a Marshall AS50R amp with no pre-amp.  Frankly, it doesn't need one.   The reason I had to go with the Mini is because my bridge is slotted.  The regular won't work with a slotted bride just to let you know.

Additional Comments:  I will definitely be installing this in my next Martin.
 
Reg. Price:
$142.00
Sale Price:
$99.00
Save:
$43.00
product
buy now

K&K Pure Mini Pickup

KandK Pure 12-String Pickup
Reg. Price:
$142.00
Sale Price:
$99.00
Save:
$43.00
product
buy now
K&K Pure 12-String pickup
      
    Social Media

    610-871-1673

    email usour twitterour facebook page pintrestgoogle plus youtubeinstagram

     

    Shopper Award