Skip to main content
#
 

Martin HD-35 - Rate and Review

Martin HD-35 Reviews
Name: Skip Nicholson
Date: 12-2-2012
Review: Martin HD 35
Rating you give the Martin HD35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: I have owned my HD-35 for 20 years. I have played it on tour and found perfect for my needs. Loud and clear tone.

Dislikes: There is nothing about this guitar that I dislike. It has a deep, resonant tone but the treble range rings like a bell. I love everything about this guitar.

Additional Comments: Martin Guitars tend to have a heavy bass. I like that, it's why I've owned four Martins. If you want a more "even" tone Look to a D18 or a Gibson.
 
Name: Stephen
Date: 6/17/12
Review: Martin HD35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: In general the HD35 has been my favorite sounding Martin for a long time. My HD35, in particular, did not disappoint. I love the sound of this guitar. It is the sound I hear in my head when I think of Martin.

Dislikes: Not a major complaint, but I should have had Maury do a custom set up. The action out of the box is a little high. This, of course, is easily remedied.

Additional Comments: The sound is big with very strong bass. If that appeals to you, as it does to me, then this is guitar is for you. If you prefer a sound that is a bit more corralled, then the 28 might be more to your liking. As for me, I love the slightly unruly character of the tone of the HD 35.
 
Name or Forum username: bhbaum
Date: 3-6-12
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Full, dynamic range of tone. It retains the boom of the D-35 with that classic mid tone of a Martin, but with the scalloped bracing there is a brightness and a punch that mixes perfectly with all the other tones. Exceptional guitar! Beautiful herringbone trim, and three-piece back are gorgeous, and the action is easy on medium gauge strings.

Dislikes: IF you find something on this guitar you dislike, you're being waaaaaayyyyyy to picky. I have no complaints.

Additional Comments:
There are two things you look for when you are purchasing a new guitar: First, you want to buy the "right" guitar. Secondly, you want to find the "right" person to purchase it from. Listen, I'm no amateur. This was the first time I was going to be able to afford a "great" guitar and I was going to do it right. I wanted no regrets. I spent 8 months researching and testing several makes and models of guitars. I flip-flopped for about four months on guitars until I found this one. Here is a list of the guitars I tested:

Martin: D-28, D-35, HD-28, D-35MP, HD-16R Adirondack, M-36, M-38, Custom Shop CS35-11, HD-28MP, D-28 Marquis, D-41, 000-28EC Eric Clapton, D-42
Taylor: 314ce, 416ce, 614ce, 714ce, 814ce
Collings: D1, D1A, D1A Varnish
Gibson: Songwriter Deluxe Standard, 1980's Hummingbird

This list is only a list of the guitars I actually played. It does not include all the other ones that I reviewed or researched.

For the second point. I spoke to a handful of guitar dealerships and spoke with them about pricing and got a sense for their customer service. And although I don't feel it is fair to the business to list them here, I will say that Maury's Music beat all of them by great lengths in every area, service, price, answering questions, convenience, as well as a handful of other areas. Maury's will have my business in the future for sure and they made this purchasing experience even greater than it already was.

I am also leaving a review for the pickup system I had installed (K&K Pure Mini) and the preamp (LR Baggs Venue DI).

 
Name or Forum username: shayleen
Date: 01 02 2012
Review: Martin hd35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 2 - Did the job nothing special

Likes: Bright soundtrack

Dislikes: Too much bass and i had problems getting the sixth string just rightly

Additional Comments: Would not buy another
 
Forum username: gbmusart
Date: 1/7/10
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 2 - Did the job nothing special

Likes:  Tone wood on the top and sides is very good

Dislikes: Too bassy,not balanced across the strings sensitive top to temp and humidity and goes out of tune poor intonation

Additional Comments: My first one went back to the factory..it had the wrong radius fingerboard on it, the second replacement I had to fight to play.. quality control for a guitar that lists over 3k??
 
Forum username: gbmusart999
Date: 10/10/09
Review: Martin HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 3 - Good product give it a try

Likes: sonorous round deep tone,great Martin customer service

Dislikes: shaved bracing makes it sensitive for tuning in different environments, overall intonation was not that great (went through two returns), needs a solid mahogany neck like they used to be, tends to be a stiff feel and harder to play than a Gibson in the same price range,also too bassy, lacks in the highs.. I got rid of mine after 5 months

Additional Comments: not your best deal in the price range (retail about $3500.00)
guitar lacks balance
 
Forum username: Bob6870
Date: 1/26/2009
Review: Martin HD35
Rating you give the Martin HD-35: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Wonderful warm, full sound, while still having clear mids and sparkling highs.  My HD35 responds to any style I want to play from folk to country, bluegrass and contemporary music.

Dislikes: None

Additional Comments: Very nice herringbone and the low profile neck is nice.
 
Name:  Nate Scott
Date:  04/10/08
Review:  HD-35
Rating you give the Martin HD35:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes:  This guitar really rings. Is a great guitar for country music or bluegrass.  I think the one quarter inch scalloped bracing makes a big differece in this guitar from others.

Dislikes:  Nothing to dislike.

Additional Comments:  I think this guitar is over looked big time.
 
Name:  owner
Date:  15/04/08
Review:  HD-35 Martin
Rating you give the Martin HD35:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin HD-35:  Love this guitar;it really rings.  The scalloped quarter inch bracing makes the difference in my opinion.  This guitar is not bass boomey at all.

Dislikes:  Nothing to dislike.

Additional Comments:  This guitar is over looked; a great guitar for country or bluegrass.
 
Rate the Martin HD-35
 5 - Best Martin I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the Martin HD-35
 3 - Good Martin, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the HD35


Sorry, this guitar is no longer manufactured. 

To view our current Martin guitar inventory, please use this link.  Martin guitars

Sorry, this guitar is no longer available.

To view our current Martin guitar inventory, please use this link.  Martin guitars

Martin HD-35 Ambertone
Reg. Price:
$4,763.00
Sale Price:
$3,001.00
Save:
$1,762.00
product
buy now

Order today for a 6-8 month ETA.

Martin HD-35 Vintage Sunburst
Reg. Price:
$4,600.00
Sale Price:
$2,898.00
Save:
$1,702.00
product
buy now

Order today for a 6-8 month ETA.

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

    email usour twitterour facebook page pintrestgoogle plus youtubeinstagram

     

    Shopper Award