#
 

Martin OM-28V - Rate and Review

Rate the Martin OM-28V
 5 - Best Martin I ever played
 4 - Highly recommend the Martin OM-28V
 3 - Good Martin, give it a try
 2 - Did the job, nothing special
 1 - Save your money, forget the OM28V


Martin OM-28V Reviews

Name: Ken
Date: July 16, 2013
Review: Martin OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM28V: 4 - Highly recommend it

Likes: I bought the OM28V because I am a mostly a finger style player and need a guitar that suits my playing style a little better than some of my other guitars. I have a 1964 Strat, a 1974 Gibson Dove Custom,a 1974 Guild Artist Award, and a 2012 American Standard Strat. I like all of these guitars and would not get rid of any of them. But the OM28V is much more comfortable to play than any of them. All of my other guitars have narrow necks and it is sometimes a bit of a challenge to play finger style on them. The modified V neck is perfect for finger style playing. The guitar sounds great and the factory set up is perfect. I do my own set ups and I did not bother to change anything on the OM28V other than to put Martin SP 4050 custom light strings on it. No change in set up was required after installing these strings. My other guitars will not take a back seat to the OM28V, but I love playing it. Maury did at my request replace the plastic bridge pins with bone pins. I am very happy with the service and price provided by Maury. I saved about $670 from the MAP price by asking Maury for his best price.

Dislikes: I do not have anything to complain about on this guitar.

Additional Comments: I do have to say that when the guitar arrived on my porch, the bottom 2 inches of the shipping box looked like an accordion. Fortunately the guitar and case did not seem to suffer at all from this mistreatment by UPS.

 

Forum username: wrobert955
Date: 5/31/13
Review: Martin OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM-28V: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Sound
Size
Neck width
Neck size
Playability

Dislikes: Nothing

Additional Comments: I have purchased three guitars from Maury and as Maury knows I am very picky. The OM28V is by far the best guitar I have played or owned and I would highly recommend it. Also, after dealing with Maury several times and having tried his patience on deciding which guitar was best for me, etc. I can highly recommeded his service. He will go out of the way to be sure you are happy with your purchase.

When I got the OM28V I had to experiment some with strings to get it just right but that was it. The action was perfect right out of the box. Now it's sounding and playing just great and I can't thank Maury enough for giving me the opportunity to obtain this guitar at a great price.

 
Name: Stephen
Date: 7/1/12
Review: OM28v

Likes: The tone and overall playability are superb. I really like the modified v neck. The set-up (courtesy of Maury) is perfect. I have never felt so comfortable with a guitar right from the start. I will not be surprised if this becomes my "everyday" guitar.

Dislikes: None.

Additional Comments: I still love my dreadnoughts, but this guitar is on a different level in terms of how comfortable and easy it is to play. I am also surprised by the resonance and strength this guitar has on the bass end. Granted, I don't feel it bang around my rib cage like the HD35, but it is very strong all across the board. And, this really is a finger picker's dream.
 
Forum username: jeremyf
Date: May 23, 2012
Review: Martin OM 28V
Rating you give the Martin OM-28V: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: Amazing tone and sweet timbre. Hard to find the words to describe the feel and "voice" of this guitar. My first acoustic along with some very nice electrics eg. the Gibson L5, PRS Custom 24, etc. but find myself now reaching most often for this baby

Dislikes: Taking a while to get used to the wider neck but not a problem.

Additional Comments: Feel really blessed to have a chance to play this baby regularly.
 
Name: Mark
Date: 4/11/2011
Review: Martin OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM28V: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: I bought my 2001 OM-28V a couple of months ago after trying it head-to-head with several other models, including the Martin 000-28EC and a Taylor 712ce.  The OM-28V stood out as easily the best-sounding of the bunch, particularly played fingerstyle, and perhaps partially because of its age. It has been very well cared for, and looks brand-new.  Its voice is exceptionally loud and deep for such a small body.  I've never come across a better-sounding guitar for fingerstyle playing, and can't recommend it highly enough.  Having said that, if you're looking for a guitar for heavy strumming you would probably be happier with a dreadnought.

Dislikes: None.
 
Name or Forum username: Corvino
Date: 9/6/2010
Review: Martin OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM28V: 5 - Best thing I ever played

Likes: When doing research for my new guitar I was adamant about getting one with a 1-11/16 low profile neck.  Being used to my 00-15 (and loving it) I wanted to stick to that width. But I also wanted an OM/000 Martin with Herringbone.. Tried different approaches to getting an Elderly/Nazareth 000-28H, but had a hard time finding affordable ways of getting it shipped to Norway.  I then started thinking about the OMJM, but the signature is a huge "turn-off" for me, so I dropped that option.  When I was offered a very good deal on an OM-28V I headed straight for my local Martin store and (as they didn't have that exact model) tried my hands on a 000-28EC (which also has the Mod-V, wider neck).  After playing for a while, I found that the neck didn't bother me as much as I'd thought it would. I went ahead with the OM, and found the neck to be less cumbersome than the EC had been, and now, a week or so later, I couldn't be happier.

It sounds great.

It looks amazing.

It smells great! :)

It plays great!

Dislikes: Thus far, nothing to dislike.  I love my new guitar and couldn't be happier.

Additional Comments: I post this review mainly to let anyone who's looking for a new guitar but has reservation about the 28V's neck to at least give it a try.  My hands were fond of the 00-15, but I had no problem switching to the wider, mod-v neck.
 
Name:  Lou
Date:  3-1-08
Review:  OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM28V:
  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin OM-28V:  WOW!  Dreadnaught power in a small chassis :)  I love everything about this guitar.  Solid low end, mids and highs are there too.  Nice note separation especially for fingerpicking.

Dislikes:  $2300 and Martin ships it out with plastic pins??  Thanks Maury for the bone upgrade.

Additional Comments:  Thank you Maury for your attention to detail and for the great price $2300!
 
Name:  Paddy (N.Ireland)
Date:  25/11/2007
Review:  Martin OM28V
Rating you give the Martin OM-28V:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin OM28V:  Received the guitar this week from US.  Absolutely amazed with the build quality, finish, playability and great, great sound! Was surprised at the depth and volume of this "small bodied" beauty.  Beats the
pants off my dreadnoughts!

Dislike about the Martin OM-28V:  I may have repetitive strain injury from playing too much!

Additional Comments:  If you want a great sounding OM with the vintage Martin build, buy one. You won't be disappointed!
 
Name:  Guy Pernetti
Date:  9/12/07
Review:  om28v

Like about the Martin OM-28V:  This guitar has an exquisite action.  Mine is fairly green and will take a little time to develope the magnificant voice that is even now clearly evident.  One of fourteen guitars that I perform with, this one has the best playability.  I have an M36 that is the best voiced Martin that I've owned.  Guitars are unique, even with the similarities of construction ad design.  That being said, there is an intangable quality with Martin guitars, and it clearly shows itself with the OM28v.

Dislike about the Martin OM28V:  The tuners,a small thing.

Additional Comments:  I feel lucky to have a first class instrument like this.
 
Name:  Jillian
Date:  07/28/07
Review:  Martin OM28V
Rating you give the Martin OM-28V:  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin OM28V:  I just cannot agree at all with U-Dave when he said the OM28V was not loud!  I own a 2006 OM28V and I have also played several others and all of them can rip paint off the walls!  They also stand up VERY well in bluegrass jams.  I have used my Martin OM28V over my Martin D-18V at several bluegrass jams.  NO problem being heard - even over the Stelling banjos.  This is one LOUD Martin.  The OM28V is much louder than most dreadnaughts.  I bought it over the Santa Cruz OM.  The 28V Martin sounded much better.  This is one of the finest guitars out there.  So Dave-U and I are 180 degrees apart on our reviews.  Maybe it is just my Masters in Music female perspective.
 
Forum username:  U-Dave
Date:  5/22/07
Review:  Martin OM-28V
Rating you give the Martin OM28V:  4 - Highly recommend it

Like about the Martin OM-28V:  OM size fits comfortably and makes you want to play forever!  This model has an even, balanced tone throughout range (e.g., compared to a Martin D-28).

Dislike about the Martin OM28V:  This model doesn't have the acoustic depth of a Santa Cruz OM, or craftsmanship of a Bourgeois, but is well-built guitar.  It is not loud, so it can't compete in a jam with Dreadnoughts!

Additional Comments:  My OM-28V is a 1999, bought used; based on price, value & quality, it was comparable to anything I played.  And good resale, if I decide to move up to a Collings!  The Cleartone strings improved the overall sound and response.
 
Name:  simon (from uk)
Date:  20 sept 06
Review:  OM28V
Rating you give the Martin OM-28V:
  5 - Best thing I ever played

Like about the Martin OM28V:  received the guitar this morning, oh my goodness. the tone of this model is as sweet as honey! the guitar was ordered over the phone to maury himself, the set-up was exactlty as required, PERFECT.

Dislike about the Martin OM-28V:  nothing

Additional Comments:  having owned 6 martin guitars in the last 10 years, this is by far the best.anybody reading this review, do not hesitate to contact maury.(i will again). even with delivery and duty charges i saved 400 on uk prices. GO ON TREAT YOURSELF! it is a MARTIN afterall.
 
UMGF Username:  OM18V
City/State:  Santa Barbara, CA
Date:  8/19/2004
Review:  Martin OM-28V
Rating:  5 - Best thing I ever bought

Liked about the Martin OM-28V:
Tone
Playability
Appearance
Tone
Balance

Disliked about the Martin OM-28V:  Will have to put waverlies on it,although stock tuners work fine.

Additional Comments:  This is one of Martin's best models: balanced, comfortable, great fit and finish. This one has the Martin magic in spades. Compare with Santa Cruz and Collings at a couple of grand higher, without Martin Tone.
 
Martin OM-28V Cocobolo Custom Set #33
Reg. Price:
$5,365.00
Sale Price:
$3,379.00
Save:
$1,986.00

Order today for a 6-8 month ETA.

Martin OM-28V Ambertone
Reg. Price:
$5,665.00
Sale Price:
$3,569.00
Save:
$2,096.00

Order today for a 6-8 month ETA.

    Social Media

    610-871-1673

     

    Shopper Award